The 8 Limbs of Yoga Flashcards Preview

Philosophy > The 8 Limbs of Yoga > Flashcards

Flashcards in The 8 Limbs of Yoga Deck (27):

Name the 8 limbs of Yoga

Yamas, Niyamas, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi


What are the 5 Yamas?

Ahimsa, Satay, Asteya, Brahmacharya, Aparigraha


What are the 5 Niyamas?

Saucha, Santosha, Tapas, Svadhaya, Ishvarapranidhana


What is the meaning of Yama?

Codes of restraint


What is the meaning of Niyama?

Codes of observance


What is Ahimsa?

Non violence, wishing of harm, avoiding aggression in all forms, everything
is connected and we choose to live with passion and respect for all beings,
developing a respect for life, rising above negative emotions


What is Satay?

Truthfulness, non lying, to exaggerate or distort for our selfishness, honesty,
integrity, speak and feel only truthful things, search out truths on all levels – you will
have peace of mind living in truth


What is Asteya?

Non stealing, generosity of things/time, honesty, when asana is practiced
correctly, the posture provides the energy required, being content, sharing, being on
time, giving up of desire (it will come to us itself) – curbed by practicing asana


What is Brahmacharya?

Dedicated to the dignity of life, celibacy, moderation in all things,
inner consciousness flowing towards truth, self enquiry


What is Aparigraha?

Non attachment, non grasping, awareness of abundance and gratitude,
fulfilment, not hoarding or accumulating, learning to let go


What is Saucha?

Cleanliness inside and out, purity, simplicity, refinement, purifying with
water, avoiding intoxicants and stimulants, nourishing diet, being emotionally light


What is Santosha?

Contentment, serenity but not complacency, sense of knowing our place in the universe, an agreement with faith that we make with the Divine Self, identifying with inner essence rather than external objects, living in the present, and receiving what comes naturally, simple life of moderation, being joyful and accepting, catching destructive thoughts.


What is Tapas?

Self discipline, right effort, internal fire


What is Svadhaya?

Self study


What is Ishvarapranidhana?

Surrender to the higher self, surrendering your ego, thoughts, following your heart when making decisions


What does Asana mean?

Internal dances in the form of postures keeping the body strong, relaxed and
flexible, controlled discipline and awareness, harmonious flow of energy within the mind and


What does Pranayama mean?

Breathing practices that help to develop prana or life force, a balanced
rhythmical pattern steadies the mind and emotions, causing the breath to become


What does Pratyahara mean?

Drawing one͛s attention to silence, not being bombarded by modern day life,
teaching our mind to overcome desires and find purity, don͛t get on the train


What does Dharana mean?

Focusing attention and cultivating inner perpetual awareness, the mind and
thoughts are attentive and concentrated on a single point for 12 seconds


What does Dhyana mean?

Unbroken concentration or meditation


What does Samadhi mean?

Finding your highest state of consciousness, becoming your true self, Seer to true


What is 1.1 of the yoga sutras in Sanskrit and English?

atha yogaanusanam - Now the teachings of yoga (are presented)


What does yoga sutra 1.1 mean?

It describes that the 196 aphorisms are set out in a mann4er that link one to the next and sold be practiced in that order to achieve the true self
Starting at the end and this is the vison to get there


What is 1.2 of the yoga sutras in Sanskrit and English?

yogas citta vrtti nirodhah - Yoga is the control of thought-waves in the mind


What does 1.2 yoga sutra mean?

Diving beneath the waves of the waves beyond the fluctuations of the mind, intellect and ego to stillness.


What is 1.3 of the yoga sutras in Sanskrit and English?

tada drastuh svarupe vasthanam – Then the seer abides in his true nature


What does 1.3 yoga sutra mean?

Witnessing or seeing the seer (self) take on its own reality of being