2013 NBA Case Book Flashcards
(458 cards)
- During the last two minutes of the fourth period, Player A1 is attempting a throw-in
from out-of-bounds to Player A2. As the ball is in the air and Player A2 awaits the
pass, he is fouled by Player B1. How is this administered?
This is a common foul, as Player A2 was involved in the play. This is not considered an away-from-the-play foul. On the same play, if Player A3
was setting a screen for Player A2 and was fouled, it also would be considered a common foul.
RULE 4 - SECTION III - i
RULE 12B - SECTION X - a
- During the last two minutes of the fourth period, Player A1 is out-of-bounds and is
attempting to inbound the ball. Player B1 reaches across the out-of-bounds line and
fouls Player A1. How is this administered?
Player B1 is assessed an away-from-the-play foul. One free throw attempt is awarded, regardless of the penalty situation. The free throw may be attempted by any of the five players in the game at the time. The ball is then awarded to Team A for a throw-in at the previous spot with all privileges remaining.
RULE 12B - SECTION X - a (1) and (3)
- During the last two minutes of the fourth period, Player A1 is dribbling the ball in
the frontcourt and Player B2 deliberately fouls Player A2 who is not in the play.
What is the ruling?
Player B2 is assessed an away-from-the-play foul and Team B a team foul. Any player in the game on Team A shall attempt one free throw. The ball is awarded to Team A on the sideline where the play was interrupted but no nearer to the baseline than the free throw line extended. The 24-second clock shall remain the same as when play was interrupted
or reset to 14 seconds, whichever is greater.
RULE 4 - SECTION III - i
RULE 7 - SECTION IV - d (1)
RULE 12B - SECTION X - a (1) and (2)
- Prior to Player A1 releasing the ball on a throw-in at 1:23 of overtime, a flagrant
foul is called when Player B2 knocks Player A2 to the floor. What is the ruling?
Player B2 is charged with a flagrant foul and since it is away-from-theplay, any player in the game for Team A shall attempt two free throws. If a flagrant foul penalty 1 is ruled, the ball is awarded to Team A at the free throw line extended on either sideline as after any flagrant foul.
RULE 4 - SECTION III - i
RULE 12B - SECTION X - b (1)
- During the last two minutes of the fourth period, Player A1 is attempting to inbound
the ball at the midcourt line. Player B1 fouls Player A2, who is on the opposite side
of the court and not attempting to receive the inbounds pass. How is this play administered?
Player B1 is assessed an away-from-the-play foul and Team B a team foul. Any player in the game on Team A shall attempt one free throw. The ball is awarded to Team A at midcourt where the play was interrupted.
RULE 12B - SECTION X - a (1) and (3)
- On an unsuccessful field goal attempt, the ball hits the basket ring and rebounds
over and behind the face of the backboard. The ball returns to the floor and touches
inbounds without having touched any of the backboard supports. Is the ball to
remain in play?
No. A violation shall be called on the last team to touch the ball before it went directly behind the backboard. The ball is awarded to the opposing team for a throw-in at the free throw line extended.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b
- Player A1 has control of the ball near the endline and passes the ball behind the
backboard (never touching the supports) to Player A2. Is this legal or illegal?
Illegal. Same reason as #6 above.
RULE 8 - SECTION II - b
- On an unsuccessful field goal attempt, the ball rebounds off the basket ring and
rolls along the top edge of the backboard. Is the ball still in play?
Yes. All four sides of the backboard are considered inbounds.
RULE 4 - SECTION I - c
- Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to
touch the ball?
Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches his basket ring, backboard or another player.
RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
- Player A1 taps the ball into his backcourt while rebounding. Player A2 retrieves the
ball in the backcourt and continues to advance the ball toward the frontcourt. Is this
legal?
Yes. Any player may recover a ball which is tapped into the backcourt during rebounding or when the ball is loose.
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - b
- A player in control of the ball has stopped his dribble in the frontcourt and is very
close to the midcourt line. While being played extremely close by an opponent he
steps into the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?
The official must judge this as:
(1) a personal foul on the defensive player if illegal contact caused him to step into the backcourt
(2) a traveling violation if the step was illegal
(3) a backcourt violation.
RULE 4 - SECTION V - a
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - a
RULE 12B - SECTION I - a
- Player B1 deflects a pass from Player A1 to Player A2, causing it to hit Player A2’s
knee and continue into Team A’s backcourt. May any player from Team A be the
first to legally touch the ball while it is in the backcourt?
Yes. The 24-second clock continues to run until there is a change of team possession. The deflection by Player B1 caused team control to
cease and the ball became loose. Any player from either team may be the first to touch and/or recover a loose ball.
RULE 7 - SECTION II - d
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - a
- Having been the first to gain possession after a jump ball, Player A1 dribbles or
passes the ball into the backcourt. This is done after Player A1 has assumed a positive
position in the frontcourt. Legal or illegal?
Illegal. Player A1 has established a positive position in the frontcourt.
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - b
- Player A1 has possession of the ball in the frontcourt. He passes the ball to Player
A2 who is still in the air after having leaped from his backcourt. Is this legal?
No. A backcourt violation has occurred. Player A2 must establish a position on the floor in the frontcourt prior to touching the pass from
Player A1. The same restrictions also apply for players coming from out-of-bounds to receive a pass or to retrieve a loose ball. A player must
first establish at least one foot on the floor prior to touching the ball.
RULE 8 - SECTION I
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - a
- Player A1 straddles the midcourt line and, without moving forward, dribbles the
ball in the frontcourt while in this position. Is this a violation?
No. A player dribbling the ball is considered in the backcourt if either foot or the ball is in the backcourt.
RULE 4 - SECTION V - d
- A player in control of the ball in backcourt approaches the midcourt line. After
stopping his dribble in the backcourt, he straddles the midcourt line. Is this a violation?
No. As long as any part of his person is touching the backcourt, Player A1 is considered backcourt. He may legally bring his front foot (non pivot) back and forth between the front and the backcourt.
RULE 4 - SECTION V - c
- Where and how is the ball put into play on all backcourt violations?
On all backcourt violations, the ball is moved to the midcourt line and must be passed into the frontcourt of the team now in possession.
However, in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or overtime, the ball may be passed anywhere on the court.
RULE 8 - SECTION III - e
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - PENALTY
- Player B1 rebounds an unsuccessful field goal attempt by Player A1 and attempts
a pass to Player B2 near the midcourt line. Player A2 intercepts the pass while in
midair and lands (in what would have been) Team B’s frontcourt. Is this a backcourt
violation by Player A2?
No. The defensive team does not have a frontcourt/backcourt. Therefore, Player A2 shall be ruled as being in his backcourt when he lands with
the ball in his control and establishes a positive position.
RULE 4 - SECTION V - g
- A frontcourt pass from Player A1 to Player A2 goes into the backcourt and is recovered
by Player A3 near the baseline. Where is the throw-in administered?
At the midcourt line.
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - PENALTY
- Following a jump ball at the center circle, the ball is tapped toward the sideline.
Player A1 leaps across the mid-court line into the frontcourt, having last touched
the playing surface in his backcourt. He controls the ball while in mid-air and
throws it to Player A2 who is positioned in his backcourt. Is this a backcourt viola -
tion?
No. Player A1 never established a positive position in the frontcourt.
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - b
- A field goal attempt by Player A1 is blocked by Player B1 and the ball becomes
loose over the baseline. Player A1, having last touched the playing surface
inbounds, leaps over the baseline, gains possession of the ball while still in mid-air
and throws it into his backcourt. It is recovered by Player A2. Is this a backcourt
violation?
Yes. The saving and throwing of the ball by Player A1 in the frontcourt is considered positive position. Therefore, a violation has occurred.
RULE 10 - SECTION IX - a
- Team A is granted a 20-second timeout with the ball in the frontcourt and :21.5
remaining in the fourth period. On the throw-in, the ball is thrown into the backcourt
where it is caught and controlled by Player A2. Is this a violation?
No. During the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or overtime, the ball may be inbounded anywhere on the court.
RULE 8 - SECTION III - e (EXCEPTION)
- Player A1 attempts a field goal that Player B1 bats against the backboard. Is this a
violation?
No. The batting of the ball is legal unless it violates Rule 11.
RULE 11 - SECTION I - f
- Player A1 saves a loose ball from going out-of-bounds by batting the ball back onto
the playing court. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball when he returns onto
the court?
Yes. The batting of the ball does not constitute player control, therefore Player A1 may be the first to touch the ball.
RULE 10 - SECTION II - b