Part 3 - EA Application and Support: Capability-oriented Architecture, Tools, Governance Flashcards Preview

EAM > Part 3 - EA Application and Support: Capability-oriented Architecture, Tools, Governance > Flashcards

Flashcards in Part 3 - EA Application and Support: Capability-oriented Architecture, Tools, Governance Deck (13)
Loading flashcards...

What are the characteristics of capabilities?

Elaborate on them.

Capabilities generally describe "WHAT" is a specific business function. Process, on the other hand, answer the question "HOW" they are realized.


  • are the building block of business
  • represent stable business functions
  • are unique and independent from each other
  • are abstracted from the organizational model
  • capture the business interests

Then, capabilities bridge the gap between business and IT (they include both).


Mention the (7) properties of capabilities:

Capabilities have properties and they are measurable:

  1. Owner
  2. Performance
  3. Business Value
  4. Maturity
  5. SLA (Service Level Agreement)
  6. Compliance
  7. Criteria


How is a capability differentiated from a service?

COA and SOA are not contradictory, just different viewpoints:

  • Questions:
    • Capability: WHAT
    • Service: HOW
  • Origin:
    • Capability: Strategic Management
    • Service: Process & IT Management
  • Address:
    • Capability: Top level management
    • Service: Architects
  • View of the Enterprise:
    • Capability: Black Box
    • Service: White Box

(see picture).


Name and describe at least three aspects in which capabilities and services differ:

They can differ in:

  • Questions they address
  • Origin
  • Address(ed) people
  • View of the Enterprise


(See picture)


How can capability maps be structured?

A popular viewpoint for capabilities is a Capability maptherefore a specific capability map is a view.

  • It usually contains top level capabilities, which can be gradually detailed.
  • Only 2-3 hierarchy levels are recommended for a single map, more on separate maps.

(See example image).


List the (8) steps for a Capability Based Planning:

  1. Establish Context
  2. Create Top-Level Capabilities
  3. Assign Capability Attributes
  4. Decompose Capabilities
  5. Determine Attributes
  6. Create Visualization (e.g. heat maps)
  7. Validate view
  8. Communicate


What are the (6) indications for "correct" or "complete" capability maps?

  1. Stability
  2. Horizontal Structure
  3. Vertical Hierarchy
  4. Encapsulated and abstract
  5. Measurability
  6. Use of View (of Stakeholder)


What are the capability levels?

Capability levels represent different level of detail of capabilities. For example:

  • Level 1 - Capabilities: which determine how enterprise is perceived by environment. E.g. customer relation management.
  • Level 2 -  More details: capabilities similar to business functions. E.g. handling complaints.
  • Level 3 - Capabilities represent activities: e.g. register complaint.
  • Level 4 - Capabilities describe specific aspects of activities: e.g. customer notifications about complaint.


What is outsourcing?

List and describe the (5) steps used on it. 

Outsourcing: consumption of resources which are outside of the organization.

  1. Modularization
    • ​​Capability map
    • Design Structure Matrix (DSM)
      • x stands for dependency of capabilities
      • goal: find clusters of dependecy for potential outsourcing
  2. Outsourcing Criteria Definition
    • ​​Strategic:
      • Strategic impact
      • Value contribution
    • Operational:
      • Cost advantage
      • Performance excellence
      • Outsourcing feasibility (HR, Detachability, IT Process)
  3. Exploration of capabilities
    • ​​Usage of the 3 cell matrix
      • Result: exploration report
  4. Evaluation of capabilities
    • ​​Outsourcing portfolio
  5. Choice of capabilities


What are the four types of functionality EA tools offer?

  1. Design and Modeling
  2. Analysis
  3. Visualization and Publication
  4. Repository Management


What is in general Governance?

What are the six characteristics of good Governance by Naidoo?

In general, Governance is the distribution of rights and responsibilities or the rules and procedures for making decisions.

  1. Discipline
  2. Transparency
  3. Independency
  4. Accountability
  5. Responsibility
  6. Fairness


What is EA Maturity?

What are the (5) levels of EA Maturity?

EA Maturity can be used to assess how EA is being utilized within strategic governance and decision making.

Ther are 5 levels:

0) No Architecture

  1. Informal Architecture Program
  2. Supervised Architecture Program
  3. Governed Architecture Program
  4. Iterative and Incremental Architecture Program


Describe the purpose of EA Maturity as introduced in the lecture:


  1. Find appropiate (Architecture) Governance
  2. Lead to the next level of EA Maturity