5D Flashcards
(188 cards)
Seacraft, Inc., received a request for a competitive bid for the sale of one of its unique boating products with a desired modification. Seacraft is now in the process of manufacturing this product but with a slightly different modification for another customer. These unique products are labor intensive and both will have long production runs. Which one of the following methods should Seacraft use to estimate the cost of the new competitive bid?
Expected value analysis
Learning curve analysis
Regression analysis
Exponential distribution analysis
Learning Curve Analysis
Since the manufacturing processes for these unique products are new, are labor intensive and have long production runs, labor becomes more skilled, and hence more efficient, over time as the new processes are learned.
This increased efficiency reduces the cost.
Thus, the method that should be used to estimate the cost of the second process is learning curve analysis
Asta, Inc., is a medical laboratory that performs tests for physicians. Asta anticipates performing between 5,000 and 12,000 tests during the month of April. Compared to industry averages, at the low range of activity Asta has a lower sales price per test, higher fixed costs, and the same breakeven point in number of tests performed. At the high range of activity, Asta’s sales price per test and fixed costs are the same as industry averages, and Asta’s variable costs are lower. At the low range of activity (0 to 4,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $160,000. At the high range of activity (5,000 to 14,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $200,000.
Sales price per test $60
Variable costs per test 20
How is the cost of distilled water used in tests categorized?
Direct material cost
Fixed cost
Overhead cost for testing
General and administrative cost
Distilled water used in tests is a cost of material used directly in production, so it is a direct material cost.
“Fixed cost” is incorrect because more distilled water is used for more tests; it is a variable cost, not a fixed cost.
____) also called ___ analysis is a technique to evaluate the relationship between costs, volume of activity, and profit
The key factors in cost-volume-profit analysis are revenues, Direct Material costs, and indirect costs T/
Breakeven (also called cost-volume-profit (CVP
False -Revenue, Fixed Cost & Variable Costs
Ratio for Breakeven?
Questions on the CPA Examination often ask for breakeven stated in sales dollars. This can be obtained by computing breakeven in units and multiplying it by the sales price, or it can be computed directly as follows:
FC Breakeven sales dollars: ---------- P - VC P
Fixed cost
__________-
Price - Variable cost/unit
Management at MDK Corp. is deciding whether to replace a delivery van. A new delivery van costing $40,000 can be purchased to replace the existing delivery van, which cost the company $30,000 and has accumulated depreciation of $20,000. An employee of MDK has offered $12,000 for the old delivery van. Ignoring income taxes, which of the following correctly states relevant costs when making the decision whether to replace the delivery vehicle?
Purchase price of new van, disposal price of old van, gain on sale of old van
Purchase price of new van, purchase price of old van, gain on sale of old van
Purchase price of new van, disposal price of old van
Purchase price of new van, purchase price of old van, accumulated depreciation of old van, gain on sale of old van, disposal price of old van
Purchase price of new van, disposal price of old van
Relevant costs include all expected future costs that will differ among alternatives for a particular decision.
Other costs will not change and are not relevant to the decision.
Purchase price of the new van is relevant because that cost will not be incurred if the van is not replaced.
Disposal price of the old van is relevant because that cash will not be received unless the van is replaced.
Critical in management decision making is the understanding that ____are irrelevant.
___costs for decision making are expected future costs that will differ among alternatives available to the firm.
___costs are useful only as they help predict the future.
sunk (past) costs
Relevant
Historical
Asta, Inc., is a medical laboratory that performs tests for physicians. Asta anticipates performing between 5,000 and 12,000 tests during the month of April. Compared to industry averages, at the low range of activity Asta has a lower sales price per test, higher fixed costs, and the same breakeven point in number of tests performed. At the high range of activity, Asta’s sales price per test and fixed costs are the same as industry averages, and Asta’s variable costs are lower. At the low range of activity (0 to 4,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $160,000. At the high range of activity (5,000 to 14,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $200,000.
Sales price per test $60
Variable costs per test 20
Depreciation on the laboratory equipment is calculated on the basis of service hours. How is the depreciation on laboratory equipment categorized?
Direct material cost
Direct labor cost
Variable cost
General and administrative cost
Variable
Depreciation based on service hours is a cost that increases directly as production increases, so it is a variable manufacturing cost.
“Direct material cost” and “direct labor cost” are incorrect because this cost is not a material cost nor is it a labor cost.
Information related to the revenue and costs of a product is as follows:
Total fixed cost per month $3,600
Desired net income per month 480
Selling price per unit 20
Variable cost per unit 15
What number of units above the breakeven level must be sold to earn the desired level of net income per month?
96
BE: 3600/ (20-15) = 720
Desired level of Net income = (3600+480) / (20-15) = 816.
816 - 720 = 96.
This question asks “Units ABOVE break even level”
In the past, four direct labor hours were required to produce each unit of product Y. Material costs were $200 per unit, the direct labor rate was $20 per hour, and factory overhead was three times direct labor cost. In budgeting for next year, management is planning to outsource some manufacturing activities and to further automate others. Management estimates these plans will reduce labor hours by 25%, increase the factory overhead rate to 3.6 times direct labor costs, and increase material costs by $30 per unit. Management plans to manufacture 10,000 units. What amount should management budget for cost of goods manufactured?
$5,060,000
This is easy
The direct materials cost is (Old cost + Expected increase in cost) × Number of units.
($200 (Old cost) + $30 (Increase expected)) × 10,000 = $2,300,000
The direct labor cost is (Old cost - Expected decrease in cost) × Number of units.
Old cost = Labor hours required × Hourly rate = 4 × $20 = $80 (per unit)
Expected decrease in cost = $80 × 25% = $20
($80 (Old cost) - $20 (Decrease expected)) × 10,000 = $600,000
The factory overhead is expected to be 3.6 × Direct labor cost per unit × Number of units.
New direct labor cost per unit is $80 (Old cost) - $20 (Expected decrease) = $60 per unit
3.6 × $60 (Labor cost) = $216 per unit for overhead × 10,000 units = $2,160,000
Direct materials + Direct labor + Factory overhead = Total cost
$2,300,000 + $600,000 + $2,160,000 = $5,060,000
When preparing a sales forecast, which of the following factors is not taken into consideration?
Competition
Economic conditions
Customer needs/wants
Industry trends
Competition
Competition is not a factor when preparing a sales forecast. While competitors cannot be ignored, the following are key to preparing a sales forecast: economic conditions, customer needs/wants, industry trends, expected marketing efforts, and the products to be sold.
SALES FORECAST
Today, most forecasting is done using computer-based models T/F
This forecast is extremely important since nearly all other parts of the operating and financial budgets are based upon the sales forecast T/F
True
True
SALES FORECAST
The sales forecast is the projection of both volume and dollar value of sales for a future period. It is based upon
\_\_\_ conditions, customer-anticipated product/service \_\_ and \_\_ recent industry \_\_, assumed expected _efforts, the \_\_(new and old) to be sold
Economic Needs and Wants Trends Marketing Products
SALES FORECAST CONSIDERATIONS
- Sales forecasts for each ___and each __ in each division provide a more ___total sales projection
- Sales forecasts for various marketing regions—foreign, domestic, regional—provide superior total estimates.
- ___rates must also be projected
- ___ conditions need to be predicted
- With the introduction of a new product, a firm can often have a competitive advantage with increased market share until the competition can develop similar products. T/F
division , product, more realistic
True
Exchange
Economic
True
In order to increase the profit margin for a certain product, a company is planning to purchase a custom- made machine for $5,000,000. It is anticipated that the introduction of the new machine will reduce the product’s variable costs of labor and maintenance by $5.50 per unit and $.95 per unit, respectively. The product manager estimates that 500,000 units of the product will be manufactured and sold each year with a product life cycle of two years, at which time the machine will be discarded with no salvage value.
What is the company’s total cost savings over the product’s life cycle?
The product life cycle describes the period of time over which an item is developed, brought to market and eventually removed from the market.
The full cycle consists of four stages: introduction, growth, maturity and decline.
The company’s total cost savings over the product’s life cycle is $1,450,000, calculated as follows:
Variable cost savings
($5.50 + $.95) × 500,000 units × 2 years
$6,450,000
Initial cost (5,000,000)
Net savings $1,450,000
____forecasting focuses on the judgment of experts when historical data is not available and when significant environmental changes cause the trends in the past to be irrelevant in predicting the future.
Qualitative
TYPES OF QUALITATIVE FORECASTING
- ____ method attempts to develop a forecast through a group consensus. Individual experts are asked to respond to an initial questionnaire (the respondants to the questionnaire generate the census)
- ____is where the forecaster starts with a variety of assumptions and builds multiple forecasts using these various and sometimes conflicting a ssumptions.
- ____prepared by current customers or test markets can be used to predict sale forecast
- Forecasts by ___can be useful when introducing a new product. Most products go through the product life cycle stages of introduction, growth, maturity, and decline.
Delphi method
Scenario building
Surveys
analogy
Asta, Inc., is a medical laboratory that performs tests for physicians. Asta anticipates performing between 5,000 and 12,000 tests during the month of April. Compared to industry averages, at the low range of activity Asta has a lower sales price per test, higher fixed costs, and the same breakeven point in number of tests performed. At the high range of activity, Asta’s sales price per test and fixed costs are the same as industry averages, and Asta’s variable costs are lower. At the low range of activity (0 to 4,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $160,000. At the high range of activity (5,000 to 14,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $200,000.
Sales price per test $60
Variable costs per test 20
What is the number of units Asta must sell to achieve a gross profit of $160,000?
9000
At low activity with fixed costs of $160,000, the unit sales necessary for a profit of $160,000 is fixed costs of $160,000 plus the profit of $160,000 (a total of $320,000) divided by unit contribution margin, or $320,000 ÷ $40 = 8,000 tests. This is outside the range within which fixed costs equal $160,000, so this answer is incorrect.
At high activity with fixed costs of $200,000, the unit sales necessary for a profit of $160,000 is fixed costs of $200,000 plus the profit of $160,000 (a total of $360,000) divided by unit contribution margin, or $360,000 ÷ $40 = 9,000 tests. This is the correct answer, since 9,000 tests can be performed with fixed costs of $200,000.
Note: I answered this wrong by answering 4000. This is asking for the total # of units. Not units above BE.
At the breakeven point, the contribution margin equals total:
variable costs.
sales revenues.
selling and administrative costs.
fixed costs.
Fixed Costs
Asta, Inc., is a medical laboratory that performs tests for physicians. Asta anticipates performing between 5,000 and 12,000 tests during the month of April. Compared to industry averages, at the low range of activity Asta has a lower sales price per test, higher fixed costs, and the same breakeven point in number of tests performed. At the high range of activity, Asta’s sales price per test and fixed costs are the same as industry averages, and Asta’s variable costs are lower. At the low range of activity (0 to 4,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $160,000. At the high range of activity (5,000 to 14,999 tests performed) fixed costs are $200,000.
Sales price per test $60
Variable costs per test 20
How is the cost of electricity to run laboratory equipment categorized?
Overhead
Electricity to run lab equipment is a manufacturing cost, but it is not direct labor or direct material, so “direct material cost” is incorrect. All other production costs are overhead costs, so this is part of manufacturing overhea
Using regression analysis, Fairfield Co. graphed the following relationship of its cheapest product line’s sales with its customers’ income levels:
If there is a strong statistical relationship between the sales and customers’ income levels, which of the following numbers best represents the correlation coefficient for this relationship?
-9.00
-0.93
+0.93
+9.00
A negative correlation coefficient means that as one variable increases, the other decreases, so +0.93 and +9.00, which are positive, are incorrect
. The answer choices -9.00 and +9.00 are incorrect because the correlation coefficient must be between -1.0 and 1.0.
The following information data pertains to a manufacturing company:
Total sales $80,000
Total variable costs 20,000
Total fixed costs 30,000
What is the breakeven level in sales dollars?
The contribution margin ratio is the contribution margin (sales of $80,000 less variable costs of $20,000, or $60,000) divided by the sales revenue of $80,000, or 0.75.
Breakeven revenue is found by dividing the fixed costs of $30,000 by the contribution margin ratio of 0.75, for breakeven sales revenue of $40,000.
BE Sales Dollars =
FC
____________
(P-VC)/P
30,000/((80000-20000)/80000) = 40,000
A vendor offered Wyatt Co. $25,000 compensation for losses resulting from faulty raw materials. Alternately, a lawyer offered to represent Wyatt in a lawsuit against the vendor for a $12,000 retainer and 50% of any award over $35,000. Possible court awards with their associated probabilities are as follows:
Award Probability ------- ----------- $75,000 0.6 0 0.4 Compared to accepting the vendor's offer, the expected value for Wyatt to litigate the matter to verdict provides a:
Here there are two possible outcomes: collecting $25,000, or accepting the lawyer’s offer to represent Wyatt in the lawsuit
If the lawsuit is chosen, Wyatt will lose the $12,000 retainer, but have a 60% probability of winning $75,000 less the lawyer’s contingent fee of 50% of the award above $35,000. The contingent fee would be 50% times ($75,000 − $35,000) which is 0.50 × $40,000, or $20,000.
The value of winning the lawsuit is $75,000 less the contingent fee of $20,000, or $55,000. The expected value of winning the lawsuit is the probability of winning (60%) multiplied by the value of winning ($55,000), or $33,000. However, Wyatt will have to pay the retainer of $12,000, leaving a net expected value of $21,000.
Comparing a gain of $25,000 from accepting the vendor’s offer with an expected value of $21,000 of filing the lawsuit leaves a loss of $4,000 to file the lawsuit, as compared to accepting the vendor’s offer.
Loss of 4k is the answer
Box Co. uses regression analysis to estimate the functional relationship between an independent variable (cost driver) and overhead cost. Assume that the following equation is being used:
y = A + Bx
What is the symbol for the independent variable?
X
Linear regression with two variables takes the form y = Bx + A.
A is the y intercept.
B is the slope of the line. (Linear means a straight line, so the slope of the line is the same at any point on the line.)
y is the dependent variable since it is determined based on the other three terms.
x is the independent variable since it is an input to the equation, not based on the other terms.
Linear regression with two variables takes the form
y = Bx + A.
A is the y intercept.
B is the ___of the line. (Linear means a straight line, so the slope of the line is the same at any point on the line.)
y is the ____variable since it is determined based on the other three terms.
x is the ____variable since it is an input to the equation, not based on the other terms.
True
Slope
DEPENDENT
INDEPENDENT