X Questions Guilded Age Test Flashcards Preview

Social Studies 2012-2013 > X Questions Guilded Age Test > Flashcards

Flashcards in X Questions Guilded Age Test Deck (22):
1

Tariff

Tax On Good and Imports

2

Textiles

Factories That Makes Clothing

3

Copyright and Patent

Deals With Written Material

4

Richard Warren Sears

Owns Sears, Great Salesman, Terrible Businessman, first Sold Watches, Very Clever

5

Monopoly and Trust

Trust involves one group of people running multiple companies, monopoly has to do with owner of one thing raising and lowering prices at their own will

6

Capital

Tangible and Intangible

7

Immigration From Europe

Northern And Western Europeans were Protestants and came as families and worked on farms with skill, Southern and Eastern Europeans were unskilled, poor, Catholic or Jewish, moved to the cities, came alone, made up 70% of ALL Imigrants

8

Standard Time Zones

In 1894 27 Delegates all from different countries divided the globe into 24 time zones, one for each meridian of longitude and hour in a standard day. As a result if it is 8 am in our town it is 7 am in Chicago, Illinois 6 am in Denver, Colorado 5 am in San Francisco, California and 1 pm in London, United Kingdom

9

Richest People in America

Department Store Owners

10

Poll Tax

A tax levied on every adult, without reference to their income or resources

11

Richard Sears Partners

Alva Roebuck and Julius Rosenwald

12

What Does R.F.D Stand For

Rural Free Delivery

13

What is the name of a pension plan made by Mr. Sears Second Partner?

Profit Sharing

14

Mr. Sears First Retail Store Opened in Chicago, Illinois In ____?

1920

15

The Last Decade You could place an order in Mr. Sears Mail Catalogue was ____?

1980

16

Example: Capital and the Willingness to Risk it:

Partnership with Alva Roebuck

17

Example: An Adequate Supply Of Natural Resources

Air or Fresh Water

18

Example: Inventions and New Technology

Phonograph

19

Example: An Adequate Supply of Labor

Woman or Children

20

Example: Government Support and/or Encouragement

Supplied Loan Money

21

Example: A system of Mass Communication

Telegraph

22

Example: A system of Mass Transport:

Railroads