Buddhism exam (practices) Flashcards Preview

Phiosophy And Ethics > Buddhism exam (practices) > Flashcards

Flashcards in Buddhism exam (practices) Deck (21):

Describe what is included in temples in depth?

A main hall where Buddhists practice together (sangha meaning community , one of three refuges)
Meditation hall (right concentration)
Study Hall (one of the six perfections of wisdom)
A shrine (annica, light, purity and eightfold path)
Pagoda (tired tower including layers wisdom and Earth)

Easy to concentrate at a temple
Learn from each other


What is puja?

A formal act of worship that takes place in a shrine
3 core elements: blowing to the Buddha (commitment), offerings of incense and flowers, chanting.
Determination for enlightenment and thankfulness and devotion

"Reverently, I prostrate with my body, speech and mind I present clouds of every type of offering."


What is metta?


One of the Buddha viharas: The Four Divine Emotions
1. Metta (Loving-kindness)
2. Karuna (Compassion)
3. Mudita (Joy with others)
4. Upekkha (Equanimity)
They are sublime states that Buddhists are urged to develop

The metta suta says, "Whatever beings there may be... may all beings, without exception, be happy-minded."
Dali lamma said, "my religion is simple, my religion is Kindness."


What is Karma?

Means - action and that all intentional actions have consequences
Our rebirth (samsara) is defined by our karma
Worship helps Buddhists to transform their minds through positive action so that they can escape the cycle of birth, death and rebirth, known as samsara and gain enlightenment.


What is Zazen meditation?

Zazen= seated meditation
Purpose= to understand the nature of existence and reach enlightenment

Mindfulness of breathing (right concentration)
Awareness of present moment
Thoughts come and go

The meditator may have being posed a question (Koan) to pose a mental dilemma


What is Vipassana meditation?

Purpose= Insight meditation to see reality, mindfulness and concentration.
Focus on breathing or on a simple object
Allow the mind to switch between thoughts (impermanence, annica) but think in depth about them analysing the mind, body and interactions with the material world in order to break attachment.
3 MoE
Wisdom ( panna, one of the six perfections)


What is Samatha meditation?

Samatha= calming
Purpose= focus on one object for developing concentration and wisdom
Mindfulness of breathing
Uses the ten kasinas: earth, water, fire, air, blue, yellow, red, white, enclosed space and consciousness or bright light


What are the 6 perfections



What is nirvana ?

A peace of mind and a state of complete enlightenment and happiness
exiting the samsara cycle and end of the 3 poisons
Something we strive for but cannot be describe because it is not part of the material world.
Those who experience it still live life in the safe way with suffering but respond to it differently and accept it using the four noble truths
Reach it using the three refuges (sangha and help each other)
use the eightfold path


What are the 5 layers of the pagoda?

Wisdom (highest tier)
Earth (lowest tier)


What is in a shrine?

Light (wisdom, one of 6 perfects/ drives away darkness and greed 1 of 3 poisons)
Flowers (annica-impermanence-3moe)
incense symbolises purity (right thoughts and speech)
Buddha rupa statue at the focus
They can meditate there (eightfold path things)


What are the 5 precepts?

Abstain from harming sentient beings
Abstain from taking that is not freely given
Abstain from sexual misconduct
Abstain from false speech
Abstain from intoxicating drinks and drugs causing heedlessness


Describe Wesak?

3 Buddha events (death, birth and enlightenment)
Honour and remember Buddha and his teachings
People give offerings (flowers and candles)
Monks lead meditation, chant, or give sermons on Buddha's life and enlightenment
In Singapore caged birds released (symbolises liberation, release from past troubles and mistakes and 3 poisons)


Describe retreats?

When Buddha encouraged monks to seclude themselves in order to meditate more intensely and study the Dharma.
They only leave the temple when necessary. And do:
study groups
(deeper understanding, eightfold path)
It is a chance to socialise and relax with other Buddhists and a chance for monks to observe vassa


Describe monasteries?

It is a place where monks and nuns live and they are often isolated to avoid distraction.
Buddhists here have dedicated their lives to spiritual practice, studying, meditating and practicing teachings
they are also plain due to the aesthetic lifestyle Buddha lead other than tapestries if illiterate.


What are stupas?

A place that holds some of Buddha's ashes from his cremation
Dome shaped= the world= community= sangha
Contains holy relics and remains of monks and nuns


Describe Parinirvana?

The death of Buddha (end of samsara cycle/annica/impermanence)
Read out: Mahaparnirvana sutra/ parinirvana sutra)
Good day for pilgrimage (visit the place in India where Buddha died)
Visit temples and meditate (right actions/concentration)


Describe Theravada death rituals?

Coffin surrounded by incense and candles to start the cremation if not burial (incense for purity/light/wisdom)
Monks face the coffin and watch it burn
Watching death reminds of annica (impermanence)
Sutras recited to the dead
Monks chant from Abhidrama scripture


Describe Japanese death rituals?

Sutras are read to remember Buddha's teachings
Ashes/bones placed in a box using special chopsticks and then put in a family shrine
Passing of ones karmic energy into the next realm


What are the three refuges?

Sangha = community
Dharma = teachings of the Buddha
The Buddha = the life of the Buddha


What are the four noble truths?

The First Truth is that all life is suffering, pain, and misery.
The Second Truth is that this suffering is caused by selfish craving and personal desire.
The Third Truth is that this selfish craving can be overcome.
The Fourth Truth is that the way to overcome this misery is through the Eightfold Path.