Rule 4: Definitions Flashcards Preview

NCAA casebook > Rule 4: Definitions > Flashcards

Flashcards in Rule 4: Definitions Deck (78):
1

A.R. 82:

A1 is in the air on a jump shot in the lane. A1 releases the ball on a try and is fouled by B1, who has jumped in an unsuccessful attempt to block the shot. A1's try is:

(1) Successful; or

(2) Unsuccessful.

RULING: A1 shall be an airborne shooter when the ball is released until he or she returns to the floor. An airborne shooter shall be in the act of shooting. B1 has fouled A1 in the act of shooting. A1 shall be awarded one free throw in (1), and two in (2).

(Rule 4-1-1, 4-1-2)

2

A.R. 83:

The ball is touching the side of the ring of Team A. B1 jumps and contacts the net. The ball is not touching the top of the ring.

RULING: No violation. The ball shall remain live.

(Rule 4-5-2.a)

3

A.R. 84:

While the ball is touching the top of the ring on a field-goal attempt, a player emphatically grasps the ring.

RULING: Double infraction. Both basket interference and a (Women) player/substitute or (Men) a CLASS B technical foul shall be called. The moment the hand touched the ring, it was basket interference. When the player emphatically grasps the ring, a (Women) player/substitute or (Men) CLASS B technical foul shall be assessed.

(Rule 4-5-2.a, 10-3-3 and 10-6-1.f)

4


A.R. 85:

During the act of shooting and before the ball is in flight for a two-point try, A1 is fouled. A1 continues the shooting motion and the ball enters the basket. A2 touches the ring while the ball is in the basket.

RULING: Basket interference on A2. The goal shall be canceled. A1 shall be awarded two free throws because of the foul.

(Rule 4-5-2.a and 10, Section 1 Penalty d.1)

5

A.R. 86:

A1 rebounds the ball while part of the ball is in the cylinder and, in the same continuous motion, dunks.

RULING: Basket interference. The ball shall be ruled dead when A1 contacts the ball in the cylinder, and the dunking of the dead ball shall be ignored. The basket shall be disallowed.

(Rule 4-5-2.b)

6

A.R. 87:

B1 is standing directly behind the backboard before A1 jumps for a layup. The forward momentum of airborne shooter A1 causes A1 to displace B1.

RULING: This is an offensive foul on A1.

(Rule 4-12-1, 4-29-2.a.1, 4-56)

7

A.R. 88:

(Men) The bonus is in effect; and, while the ball is in flight during a try for a field goal, A1 charges into B1, which is Team A's seventh foul in the half. After this, there is a basket-interference violation by:

(1) B2; or

(2) A2.

RULING: (1) Both the personal foul by A1 and the violation by B2 shall be penalized, but in the reverse order of occurrence. First, two points shall be awarded to Team A because of the violation by B2; B1 shall be awarded a one-and-one, and the ball shall remain live when the last throw is not successful and it touches the ring or flange. When A1's foul is Team A's 10th or higher foul in a half, including any combination of those described in Rule 4-10-2, award two shots and the ball remains in play. Beginning with the 10th foul in a half, including any combination of those described in Rule 4-10-2, two shots shall be awarded for each common foul (except a player-control foul or team-control foul).

(2) The violation caused the ball to become dead. Ordinarily, the ball would go to Team B at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. However, this penalty shall be ignored because of the penalty enforcement for the foul by A1. Had the bonus rule not been in effect, the ball would be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 4-10-1 and 4-10-2, and 4-5-1, 4-5-2, 4-5-3)

8

A.R. 89:

Team A is not ready to take the playing court after the second signal sounds indicating the end of the halftime intermission.

RULING: The referee should ask the timer to start the digital device used to time timeouts. When Team A is not ready to play at the expiration of one minute, Team A shall be assessed an administrative technical foul for delay of game. Team B shall be awarded two free throws and play shall be resumed at the point of interruption. When Team A is entitled to the alternating-possession arrow, it shall not lose control of the arrow until the throw-in ends.

(Rule 4-17-1.b, 6-2-4 and 10-2-5.a)

9

A.R. 90:

A5 is fouled during an unsuccessful try for goal. As A5 goes to the free-throw line, A5 is assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul, which is A5's fifth and disqualifying foul. The scorer:

(1) Informs the official that A5 has been disqualified; or

(2) Does not inform the official that A5 has been disqualified until after A5 attempts the free throws.

RULING: (1) A Team B player or team member shall attempt the free throws for the technical foul assessed to A5. Play is resumed at the point of interruption and the substitute for A5 would then attempt the free throws awarded when A5 was fouled in the act of shooting.

(2) Since A5 and A5's coach were not notified of the disqualification until after A5's free throws, the result of A5's free throws shall stand.

(Rule 4-20-4, 8-2-2.c, 2-9-4 and 4-53-1.e)

10

A.R. 91:

B1 commits a fifth foul [any combination of personal and (Men) CLASS A technical fouls and (Women) all technical fouls], which results in two free throws for A1. The official scorer and official timer fail to notify any of the game officials that a fifth foul has been committed. When the scorers realize the mistake, they inform the official timer to sound the game-clock horn. The official timer sounds the device as the first free throw is made or missed. The referee asks the scorers' table personnel to explain the problem. The referee is advised that B1 has committed five fouls, after which the referee advises the coach and player of Team B that B1 has five fouls. The coach replaces B1.

RULING: Play shall be resumed with the second free throw by A1. There is no additional penalty assessed for the official scorer's and timer's mistake in failing to notify the officials of B1's fifth foul.

(Rule 4-20-3 and 2-9-4)

11

A.R. 92:

A player who has committed a fifth foul [any combination of personal fouls, (Men) CLASS A technical fouls and (Women) all technical fouls] continues to play because the scorers have failed to notify the officials.

RULING: As soon as the scorers discover the irregularity, they should sound the game-clock horn after (or as soon as) the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player shall be removed immediately. Any points that may have been scored while such a player was illegally in the game shall count.

(Rule 4-20-1 and 2-9-4 )

12

A.R. 93:

In the front court of Team A (the back court of Team B), A1 passes the ball to A2. B1, in an attempt to secure the ball, deflects it down the playing court toward B's basket. The ball bounces several times before B1 can recover it in B's front court. B1 dribbles to B's basket and scores.

RULING: Legal. The deflection of the ball by B1 shall not be considered part of the dribble. B1 does not have control of the ball until securing it after deflecting it.

(Rule 4-21-1)

13

A.R. 94:

A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1's hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward.

RULING: It is a violation when the ball has come to rest on the hand while the palm and the fingers are facing upward and a player then continues to dribble, because the dribble has ended when the ball came to rest on the palm when it faced upward.

(Rule 4-21-4.a)

14

A.R. 95:

Is a player considered to be dribbling while touching the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from the player's hand, when the player fumbles or when the player tips a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it?

RULING: No. The player is not in control under these conditions and therefore is not dribbling.

(Rule 4, Section 21 and 4-15-1)

15

A.R. 96:

A1 dribbles and comes to a stop, after which A1 throws the ball:

(1) Against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or

(2) Against the official, immediately recovering the ball and dribbling again.

RULING: A1 has committed a violation in both (1) and (2). Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided that A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the backboard.

(Rule 4-21-4.a and 9-7-1)

16

A.R. 97:

A1 is dribbling the ball when:

(1) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, and before the ball touches the playing court he/she bats the ball again and then continues to dribble; or

(2) A1 fumbles the ball (the ball slips from the player's grasp) and the ball rolls out of reach so that A1 must run to recover it.

RULING: (1) Violation, because the ball is touched twice during a dribble, before the ball touches the playing court.
(2) It is illegal to continue to dribble, but A1 may recover the ball.

(Rule 4-21-3, 4-31-2 and 9-7-1.c)

17

A.R. 98:

A1, after:

(1) Receiving a pass; or

(2) Ending his/her dribble, passes the ball to A2. Before receiving the pass, A2 leaves the area on a cut to the basket. A1 goes to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball.

RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2).

(1) A1's attempted pass was the start of his/her dribble. When he/she recovered the ball and started another dribble, he/she would have committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to dribble, it would not have been a violation.)

(2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before his/her attempted pass to A2. A1's release of the ball on his/her attempted pass to A2 was the start of a second dribble. A1 committed a violation after he/she touched the ball.

(Rule 4-21-2 and 9-7-1.c)

18

A.R. 99:

After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:

(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne, returns to the floor and dribbles the ball; or

(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor and then dribbles the ball.

RULING: It is a violation In both (1) and (2), A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.

(Rule 4-21-4.a, 4-31-2 and 9-7-1.c)

19

A.R. 100:

A1 is dribbling the ball in the front court when the ball momentarily gets away from him or her. While the dribble is interrupted:

(1) A1 pushes B2 while trying to retrieve the ball;

(2) A2 is in the lane for four seconds; or

(3) A1 calls a timeout.

RULING: (1) Team-control foul on A1.

(2) Three-second violation on A2.

(3) A timeout shall not be acknowledged during an interrupted dribble.
(Rule 4-21-6.b, 9-9-1, 4-21-5 and 4-15-2.d)

20

A.R. 101:

A1 ends the dribble, passes the ball to A2 and then charges into B2:

(1) While the ball is in the air; or

(2) After A2 has control.

RULING: The foul on A1 in both (1) and (2) is not a player-control foul since A1 was not holding or dribbling the ball and was not an airborne shooter in either situation. However, in both cases, A1 has committed a team control foul.

When the official is in doubt as to whether the foul occurred before or after the ball was released on the pass, the foul should not be ruled a player-control foul but shall be ruled a team control foul.

(Rule 4-15-2.a, 4-29-2.a.1 and .2)

21

A.R. 102:

(Women) Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul that would not be a player-control foul?

RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with a personal foul, a flagrant 1 personal foul, a flagrant 2 personal foul or with a flagrant 2 noncontact technical foul. None of these fouls can be a player-control foul. When an airborne shooter commits a foul that is not a player-control foul, the infraction shall be penalized as dictated by the type of foul.

(Rule 4-29-2.a.1.b)

22

A.R. 103:

(Women) Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a try for a field goal. The official blows the whistle for this foul. A1 releases the ball then illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor after the shot. The ball goes through the basket.

RULING: This shall be a false double foul. Although the clock stopped when the official blew the whistle for the foul by B1, this did not cause the ball to become dead since A1 had started the trying motion. However, airborne shooter A1's foul against B2 shall be a player-control foul that causes the ball to become dead immediately. No goal can be scored on a player-control foul even when the ball goes through the basket before the foul. Since the try is disallowed because it was a player-control foul, A1 shall be awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players shall be allowed in lane spaces since Team B shall be awarded the ball after the last free throw. When the last free throw is successful, the throw-in shall be from anywhere along the end line. When the last free throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in shall be from a designated spot; in this case, the end line.

(Rule 4-29-4)

23

A.R. 104:

Before a free throw by A1 is in flight, A2 pushes B2, then A3 steps into the free-throw lane too soon. The bonus is in effect for both teams.

RULING: The foul by A2, which created a false double foul, is a team-control foul and causes the ball to become dead immediately. Consequently, A3's violation shall be ignored. A1 shall attempt the free throw(s) with no players on the lane and when the last try is successful, Team B shall have the privilege to run the endline. When the last try is unsuccessful, play shall be resumed by awarding Team B the ball for a throw-in at a designated spot closest to where the team-control foul occurred.

(Rule 4-29-4 and 8-6-1)

24

A.R. 105:

After a field goal by B1, Team A leads Team B, 61-60. A1 has the ball for a throw-in with four seconds remaining in the game. While A1 is holding the ball, B2 crosses the boundary line and contacts A1.

RULING: A flagrant 1 personal foul shall be charged to B2. The time remaining to play is not a factor. (Women) In addition to the flagrant 1 personal foul, this circumstance shall require a delay-of-game warning to Team B for crossing the boundary.

(Rule 4-29-2.c.5 and 10-1-16, Penalty d[2], 4-17-1.g)

25

A.R. 106:

B1 commits a common foul against A1 before the bonus is in effect for either team. The ball is awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. During the throw-in but before the clock is started, A2 fouls B2. Team B is in the bonus.

RULING: A2's foul is a team-control foul since it occurred during the throw-in. The foul shall be charged to A2 and the ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 4-29-2.a.2 and 7-4-1.f)

26

A.R. 107:

B1 deflects the ball away from A1 while:

(1) A1 is dribbling the ball; or

(2) A1 is passing the ball to A2.

A1, in an attempt to recover the ball, fouls B1.

RULING: In (1) and (2), A1 has committed a team control foul. The foul shall be charged to A1, and the ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where A1's foul was committed.

(Rule 4-15-2.a and.b, 4-29-2.a.2 and 7-4-1.f)

27

A.R. 108:

A1 is entitled to a one-and-one free throw. Before the ball is handed to A1, Team A's coach is assessed a (Women) direct or (Men) CLASS A technical foul.

RULING: The technical foul creates a false double foul. Team B shall be awarded two free throws because of the technical foul on Coach A. After Team B shoots the free throws for the technical fouls, A1 shall attempt the one-and-one since that was the point of interruption.

(Rule 4-29-4 and 8-6-2)

28

A.R. 109:

A3 and B3 commit a double personal foul, neither of which is a flagrant foul, while:

(1) A1's pass is in flight; or

(2) A1's try is in flight.

RULING: Charge the fouls to A3 and B3.

RULING: Charge the fouls to A3 and B3.

(1) The ball shall be awarded to Team A, the team in control, at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was last in contact with a player or the playing court with no reset of the shot clock.

(2) When the try is successful, Team B, the team not credited with the score, shall be awarded the ball anywhere along the end line. When the try is unsuccessful and since there is no team control, play shall be resumed by using the alternating-possession procedure. The throw-in shall be awarded at a designated spot nearest to where the ball became dead, as a result of the unsuccessful try, with a reset of the shot clock.

(Rule 4-15-2.b, 4-15-4.c, 4-53-1.d, 7-5-8 and 7-5-9)

29

A.R. 110:

B1 maneuvers to a position in front of post player A1 to prevent A1 from receiving the ball. A pass is made over the head and out of reach of B1. Post player A1 moves toward the basket to catch the pass and attempt a try for goal. As the pass is made, B2, moves into the path of A1, in a guarding position.

RULING: B2 has switched to guard a player who does not have the ball. Therefore, B2 must assume a position outside the restricted area arc and must give A1 enough time and distance (not more than two strides) to avoid contact to be in a legal guarding postion. When A1 has control of the ball (provided that A1 is not in the air at the time), time and distance shall be irrelevant.

(Rule 4-35-4 and 4-35-5)

30

A.R. 111:

B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1.

RULING: Foul on B1, who is not in a legal guarding position.

(Rule 4-35-4.a)

31

A.R. 112:

B1 takes a spot on the playing court before A1 jumps to catch a pass.

(1) A1 returns to the playing court and lands on B1; or

RULING: In both (1) and (2), the foul shall be on A1. In (1), B1 is entitled to that spot on the floor provided he/she gets there legally before the offensive player becomes airborne. However, in (2), when A1 possesses the ball then lands on the floor, no time and distance is required.

(Rule 4-35-4.c and .d, 4-35-3 and Exception 4-35-7)

32

A.R. 113:

A1 runs toward Team A's goal and looks back to receive a fast-break outlet pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from B1.

(1) A1 runs into B1 before receiving the ball; or

(2) A1 receives the ball and, before taking a step, contacts B1.

RULING: In both (1) and (2), A1 shall be held responsible for contact. B1 took a position in the path of A1 that provided A1 enough time and distance to avoid contact. While without the ball, A1 was provided the required time and distance to avoid contact with B1. However, when A1 received the ball, no time and distance were required by the defender.

(Rule 4-35-5.b and 4-35-4.c; Exception 4-35-7)

33

A.R. 114:

A1 is dribbling the ball and falls to the floor while continuing to dribble. While seated on the floor, A1 loses the ball and it is rolling away. As B1 comes in to try to get the ball, A1 reaches out with his or her legs, clamps the loose ball between his or her feet and brings it toward his or her body. A1 never places his or her hands on the ball. The ball is between A1's legs as B1 gets both hands on the ball.

RULING: A held ball cannot be called because A1 does not have his or her hands on the ball. A1 is intentionally using his or her feet to play the ball. This is illegal and a kicking violation shall be called on A1.

(Rule 4-37-1 and 4-45-1, 4-45-2)

34

A.R. 115:

A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against the try and:

(1) Touches the ball before it leaves A1's hand and causes the ball to remain in the hands of the shooter. The shooter returns to the floor with the ball and the ball never loses contact with A1's hand(s); or

(2) Touches the ball and causes the ball to lose contact with A1's hand(s), A1 retrieves the ball while in the air and returns to the floor in possession of the ball and begins to dribble; or

(3) Touches the ball and causes the ball to lose contact with A1's hand(s), the ball touches the floor and A1 recovers the ball and begins to dribble.

RULING: (1) The official shall call a held ball. Anytime a defender touches and causes the ball to remain in the hands of the shooter and the shooter returns to the floor with the ball still in possession, it is a held ball. (Women) When the defender momentarily touches the ball then removes her hands but does not cause the ball to remain in the shooter's hand and the shooter, who maintained control of the ball, returns to the floor with the ball still in her hands, she has traveled.

(2) and (3) The play is legal. A1 has gained a new possession in both instances. In (2), when the ball was knocked free by the defensive player, the offensive player has lost control and may recover the ball, without penalty. This begins a new possession. In (3), B1 touches the ball and causes the ball to lose contact with A1's hand(s) so A1 may be the first to touch the ball.

(Rule 4-37-1, 4-15-1 and 4-15-3 and 4-15-5)

35

A.R. 116:

A1 jumps to throw the ball. B1 prevents the throw by placing one or both hands on the ball and:

(1) A1; or

(2) A1 and B1 both return to the playing court holding the ball.

RULING: Held ball. However, when A1 voluntarily drops the ball before returning to the playing court and then touches the ball before it is touched by another player, A1 has committed a travel violation since the pivot foot was lifted before the ball was released to start a dribble.

(Rule 4-37-1 and 4-72-4.b)

36

A.R. 117:

Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a violation. A1, during the throw-in, breaks the boundary plane with the ball and extends the ball over the playing court. B1 causes a held ball. The possession arrow favors Team A.

RULING: A1's breaking the boundary plane and extending the ball over the playing court does not violate throw-in provisions. B1 legally grabbed a live ball and caused a held ball. The ball shall be awarded to Team A for an alternating-possession procedure.

(Rule 4-37-1 and 6-3-1.a)

37

A.R. 118:

A1 is in the act of shooting and B1 attempts to defend the try. The official, in anticipation of a foul that was not committed, inadvertently blows his or her whistle:

(1) Before the release of the ball; or

(2) After the try for goal was released hit the ring, but was unsuccessful.

RULING: (1) Since A1 did not release the ball and was in control of the ball when the inadvertent whistle was blown, Team A shall be awarded the ball at a designated spot nearest to where the dead ball occurred with no reset of the shot clock.

(2) The inadvertent whistle occurred when there was no team control. When the try was unsuccessful, the ball is awarded to the team entitled to the alternating-possession arrow at a spot nearest to where the try was unsuccessful and the shot clock shall be reset.

When the try for goal was successful, the inadvertent whistle shall be ignored and the team not credited wih the score shall be awarded the ball at the end line with that team being entitled to run the end line.

(Rule 2-11-6.g, 2-11-7.g, 4-53-1.a and 4-53-2.a and .d)

38

A.R. 119:

A1 is on the floor with the ball lodged between the upper part of the legs. B1 attempts to gain possession of the ball by placing two hands firmly on the ball; however, A1 applies vice-like force with the upper legs, which prevents B1 from gaining possession of the ball.

RULING: A1 has committed a kicking violation. Kicking the ball is defined as striking the ball intentionally with any part of the leg. The intent of this rule is to prevent a player from gaining an advantage by using any part of the leg. Since A1 was not holding the ball in his or her hands, B1's firm placement of his or her hands on the ball does not constitute a held ball.

(Rules 4-45-1, 4-45-2)

39

A.R. 120:

An official is in the front court when he or she runs into a pass thrown by A1 from Team A's back court. After touching the official, the ball:

(1) Goes out of bounds; or

(2) Rebounds to the back court, where it is recovered by A3.

RULING: Touching the official shall be the same as touching the floor where the official is standing.

(1) The ball shall be awarded to Team B for a throw-in at a designated spot nearest to where the out-of-bounds violation occurred.

(2) Since A1 was the last player to touch the ball before it returned to the back court, A1 caused it to go there. Back-court violation. Award a throw-in to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.

(Rule 4-46-3, 9-3-1, 9-3-2 and 7-4-1.a)

40

A.R. 121:

Team A is entitled to the ball for a throw-in after a timeout and after having previously received a team warning for not being ready to resume play following a timeout. The referee blows the whistle indicating that the timeout has ended. When Team A is not at the designated spot ready to take the ball, the referee places the ball on the floor out of bounds at the disposal of Team A. The visible count begins and:

(1) A1 picks up the ball and releases it for the throw-in within the allotted five seconds; or

(2) Team A does not release the ball on the throw-in within five seconds. Consequently, the ball is placed at Team B's disposal for a throw-in.

RULING: (1) Legal play.

(2) Violation on Team A. The referee shall award Team B the ball for a throw-in and begins a five-second count when the ball is handed to Team B or placed on the floor at Team B's disposal. When Team B does not complete the throw-in within five seconds after the referee placed the ball at Team B's disposal, Team B has committed a violation.

Since both teams delayed the game, the referee shall assess a double administrative technical foul. No free throws shall be attempted by either team. Play shall be resumed at the point of interruption.

(4-57-1 and 4-57-2, 7-6-1 and 7-6-3, and 4-53-1.e)

41

A.R. 122:

Team A is entitled to the ball for a throw-in after a timeout and after having previously received a team warning for not being ready to resume play following a timeout. The official timer properly sounds a warning signal 15 seconds before the charged timeout expires and then a final signal when the timeout ends. The official administering the throw-in sounds the whistle to alert the players that the game shall resume. However, neither team has left its huddle on the sideline.

RULING: The official shall resume play by placing the ball at the disposal of the player for a throw-in at a designated spot and shall start the throw-in count. The officials shall not issue a warning for delaying the throw-in by huddling. The resumption-of-play procedure shall be used after timeouts.

(Rule 2-10-10 and 4-57-2)

42

A.R. 123:

As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender, establishes his initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block.

RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established his initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the blocking call against B1 is the correct call.

(Rule 4, Section 61 and 10-1-12)

43

A.R. 124:

Low-post player A5 spins and gets by defender B5. B4 comes from the weak side and establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. A5 continues to move to the basket and:

(1) While airborne and shooting the ball, leans into and makes contact with B4; or

(2) Stops and, while in control of the ball, leans into and contacts B4.

RULING: (1) B4 is a secondary defender and illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area to stop A5's try for goal. A blocking foul shall be assessed to B4.

(2) When A5 stopped and the try for goal was discontinued, B4 was no longer a secondary defender. A player control foul shall be assessed to A5.

(Rule 4, Section 61 and 10-1-12)

44

A.R. 125:

Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, after receiving a pass, crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING: (1) The official is incorrect. In any outnumbering fast break situation, all Team B players are initially secondary defenders. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul.

(2) The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, he/she did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul.

(Rule 4-61-4, 4-56 and 10-1-12)

45

A.R. 126:

Player A1 attempts a shot, which bounces off the rim and is rebounded by A2. (1) Player A2 who is in the lane area immediately attempts a put back and crashes into the torso of B2, who is positioned within the restricted area; or

(2) Player A2, who is located on the wing just inside the three point line, gains possession of a long rebound and immediately drives to the basket with no defender. Player A2 crashes into the torso of B2 who is located within the restricted area.

RULING: When A2 rebounds the ball and immediately makes a move to the basket, there is no secondary defender and the restricted area rule is not in effect. When illegal contact occurs it is player control/charging foul on A2.

(Rule 4-61-3, 4-56, and 10-1-12)

46

A.R. 127:

Low post player A5 in possession of the ball is defended initially by B5. Player B4 comes from the weak side to double team and establishes initial guarding position (1) inside the restricted area or (2) outside the restricted area. A5 makes a move to the basket and contacts stationary B4 in the torso.

RULING: In (1), B4 is a secondary defender and may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, a blocking foul should be assessed against B4.

In (2), B4 is a secondary defender but established initial legal guarding position outside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, a player control foul should be assessed to A5.

(Rule 4-61-2, 4-56 and 10-1-12)

47

A.R. 128:

Team B is in a zone defense. A1, who is located on the perimeter of Team B’s zone, passes the ball to A2. A1 then cuts behind B1, who is the defender at the top of the zone, and receives a pass from A2 while just outside the restricted area. After receiving the pass, A1 then crashes into the torso of defender B2 who has established initial guarding position inside the restricted area. The Lead official calls a blocking foul on B2.

RULING: The official is correct. B2 is a secondary defender because A1 is deemed to have beaten B1 when he/she cut behind B1 on the perimeter of the zone defense. As a secondary defender, B2 may not establish an initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul when defending a player who is in control of the ball or has released the ball on a pass or try.

(Rule 4-56, Rule 4, Section 61 and 10-1-12)

48

A.R. 129:

A1 makes a cut without the ball and beats defender B1. A2 throws an alley-oop pass to A1. A1 goes airborne to receive the alley-oop pass and crashes into the torso of B2 who had established initial guarding position inside the restricted area. The crash occurs:

(1) Before A1 gains possession of the ball; or

(2) After A1 gains possession of the ball.

RULING: In (1), since A1 did not have control of the ball when the contact with B2 occurred, the secondary defender/restricted area rules do not apply. It is a charging/team control foul when B2 has given A1 enough time and distance for A1 to avoid contact and has established this position before A1 went airborne. It is a blocking foul when B2 fails to give sufficient time and distance for A1 to avoid contact or fails to establish this position before A1 goes airborne.

(Rule 4-15-2.b, 4-35-5, 4-61-1 and 10-1-12)

(2) Since A1 has control when the illegal contact with B2 occurred, this must be a blocking foul because B2 had established initial guarding position inside the restricted area.

(Rule: 4-35-7, 4-61-1, and 10-1-12)

49

A.R. 130:

Player A1 attempts a try for goal and:

(1) The shot-clock horn sounds while the ball is in flight. The ball does not hit the ring or flange and is simultaneously recovered by A2 and B2 for a held ball; or

(2) After the try does not hit the ring or flange, it is simultaneously recovered by A2 and B2 for a held ball. The shot-clock horn does not sound.

RULING: (1) A shot-clock violation has occurred and the ball is awarded to Team B at a designated spot.

(2) Since the shot-clock horn has not sounded, there is no violation. The alternating-possession arrow shall be used with no reset of the shot clock when the alternating-possession arrow favors the team that shot the ball.

(Rule 4-64, 9-11-1 and 9-11-2, 6-3-1.a and 2-11-7.i)

50

A.R. 131:

As the hand of A1 contacts the ball to tap it toward the basket, B1 fouls A1. The ball is not airborne from the hand of A1.

RULING: The penalty for a foul on a tap is the same as the penalty for a foul on a try. When the tap is successful, one free throw shall be awarded. When the tap is unsuccessful, two free throws shall be awarded.

(Rule 4-67-2 and 10-1-16 Penalty b[1] and d[1])

51

A.R. 132:

A1 attempts a try at Team A's basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling?

RULING: No. When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule.

(Rule 4-72-1, 4-15-4.c and 9-11-2)

52

A.R. 133:

A1, while airborne, catches the ball in an attempt to prevent a live ball from going out of bounds. A1 throws the ball to the floor as his/her momentum causes A1 to land out of bounds. A1 returns to the playing court where he/she:

(1) Recovers the ball; or

(2) Continues to dribble.

The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

RULING: No.

(1) and (2) The official was incorrect in calling a traveling violation because when A1 caught the ball while airborne, A1 had no established pivot foot. When A1 threw the ball to the floor, returned to the floor after being legally out of bounds and was the first to touch the ball, it became a dribble.

(1) When A1 recovered the ball, the dribble ended.

(2) A1 is permitted to continue his/her dribble.

(Rule 4, Section 72, 4-21-2 and 4-21-4.a)

53

A.R. 134:

A1 receives a pass from A2 and comes to a stop legally with the right foot established as the pivot foot. A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other several times and then proceeds to bat the ball to the floor before A1 lifts the pivot foot.

RULING: Legal.

(Rule 4-72-4.b)

54

A.R. 135:

Is it traveling when a player:

(1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or

(2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or

(3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?

RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor.

(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.

(Rule 4-72-6 and 4-72-1)

55

A.R. 136:

A1's throw (pass) from behind the three-point line is deflected while in flight by:

(1) B1; or

(2) A2, both of whom are located inside the three-point line.

RULING: (1) When a ball thrown (passed) in the direction of the basket from behind the three-point line with the possibility of entering the basket from above is deflected by a defender, a three-point goal shall be counted. However, if there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection caused the goal to be successful, a two-point goal shall be counted.

(2) When a thrown (passed) ball is deflected by a teammate and the goal is successful, two points shall be awarded.

When a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock.

(Rule 4-73-1, 4-33-1.a and 5-1-1 and 5-1-2)

56

A.R. 137:

A1 becomes confused and shoots the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled while trying to shoot and the ball goes in the basket. Is this a goal? If A1 misses, should A1 be granted two free throws for the foul by the Team B player?

RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player shoots at the opponent's basket, it is not a try. When Team A is in the bonus when the Team B player fouls A1, A1 shall be awarded a one-and-one. When Team A is not in the bonus, the ball shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot.

(Rule 4-73-1, 6-5-1.f, 10-1-16 Penalty c and a[1])

57

A.R. 138:

A ball passed from behind the three-point line:

(1) Enters the basket from above and passes through;

(2) Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or

(3) Strikes the side of the ring or the flange.

RULING: (1) A three-point goal shall be counted.

(2) When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted.

(3) The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock.

(Rule 4-73-1, 4-33-1.a, 5-1-1 and 5-1-2, 4-48 and 2-11-6.d)

58

A.R. 139:

During a try for goal but after A1 returns to the floor, B1 commits a holding foul. The foul occurs before the bonus. The attempt is:

(1) Successful; or

(2) Unsuccessful.

RULING: A personal foul shall be charged to B1 in both (1) and (2) but no free throw shall be awarded to A1 in either case since A1 is not an airborne shooter and Team A is not in the bonus. In both (1) and (2), the ball shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 10-1-16 Penalty a[1] and 7-5-4)

59

A.R. 140:

A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A's basket for a break-away layup. Near A's free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the ball against A's backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is located in A1's front court, which A1 is entitled to use.

(Rule 4-3-1, 4-73-1 and 4-73-5)

60

A.R. 141:

A1 is in possession of the ball and in the act of shooting when:

(1) B2 fouls A2 before the release of the ball; or

(2) A2 fouls B2 before the release of the ball.

RULING: (1) Assess B2 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try for goal shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award the ball to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(2) Assess A2 with the foul committed against B2. A1's try for field goal shall not count when successful, since the ball became dead before A1's release. Award the ball to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 4-73-6, 10-1-16 Penalty a[1] and c, and 6-5-1.f)

61

A.R. 124:

Low-post player A5 spins and gets by defender B5. B4 comes from the weak side and establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. A5 continues to move to the basket and:

(1) While airborne and shooting the ball, leans into and makes contact with B4; or

(2) Stops and, while in control of the ball, leans into and contacts B4.

RULING: (1) B4 is a secondary defender and illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area to stop A5's try for goal. A blocking foul shall be assessed to B4.

(2) When A5 stopped and the try for goal was discontinued, B4 was no longer a secondary defender. A player control foul shall be assessed to A5.

(Rule 4, Section 61 and 10-1-12)

62

A.R. 125:

Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, after receiving a pass, crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING: (1) The official is incorrect. In any outnumbering fast break situation, all Team B players are initially secondary defenders. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul.

(2) The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, he/she did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul.

(Rule 4-61-4, 4-56 and 10-1-12)

63

A.R. 126:

Player A1 attempts a shot, which bounces off the rim and is rebounded by A2. (1) Player A2 who is in the lane area immediately attempts a put back and crashes into the torso of B2, who is positioned within the restricted area; or

(2) Player A2, who is located on the wing just inside the three point line, gains possession of a long rebound and immediately drives to the basket with no defender. Player A2 crashes into the torso of B2 who is located within the restricted area.

RULING: When A2 rebounds the ball and immediately makes a move to the basket, there is no secondary defender and the restricted area rule is not in effect. When illegal contact occurs it is player control/charging foul on A2.

(Rule 4-61-3, 4-56, and 10-1-12)

64

A.R. 127:

Low post player A5 in possession of the ball is defended initially by B5. Player B4 comes from the weak side to double team and establishes initial guarding position (1) inside the restricted area or (2) outside the restricted area. A5 makes a move to the basket and contacts stationary B4 in the torso.

RULING: In (1), B4 is a secondary defender and may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, a blocking foul should be assessed against B4.

In (2), B4 is a secondary defender but established initial legal guarding position outside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, a player control foul should be assessed to A5.

(Rule 4-61-2, 4-56 and 10-1-12)

65

A.R. 128:

Team B is in a zone defense. A1, who is located on the perimeter of Team B’s zone, passes the ball to A2. A1 then cuts behind B1, who is the defender at the top of the zone, and receives a pass from A2 while just outside the restricted area. After receiving the pass, A1 then crashes into the torso of defender B2 who has established initial guarding position inside the restricted area. The Lead official calls a blocking foul on B2.

RULING: The official is correct. B2 is a secondary defender because A1 is deemed to have beaten B1 when he/she cut behind B1 on the perimeter of the zone defense. As a secondary defender, B2 may not establish an initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul when defending a player who is in control of the ball or has released the ball on a pass or try.

(Rule 4-56, Rule 4, Section 61 and 10-1-12)

66

A.R. 129:

A1 makes a cut without the ball and beats defender B1. A2 throws an alley-oop pass to A1. A1 goes airborne to receive the alley-oop pass and crashes into the torso of B2 who had established initial guarding position inside the restricted area. The crash occurs:

(1) Before A1 gains possession of the ball; or

(2) After A1 gains possession of the ball.

RULING: In (1), since A1 did not have control of the ball when the contact with B2 occurred, the secondary defender/restricted area rules do not apply. It is a charging/team control foul when B2 has given A1 enough time and distance for A1 to avoid contact and has established this position before A1 went airborne. It is a blocking foul when B2 fails to give sufficient time and distance for A1 to avoid contact or fails to establish this position before A1 goes airborne.

(Rule 4-15-2.b, 4-35-5, 4-61-1 and 10-1-12)

(2) Since A1 has control when the illegal contact with B2 occurred, this must be a blocking foul because B2 had established initial guarding position inside the restricted area.

(Rule: 4-35-7, 4-61-1, and 10-1-12)

67

A.R. 130:

Player A1 attempts a try for goal and:

(1) The shot-clock horn sounds while the ball is in flight. The ball does not hit the ring or flange and is simultaneously recovered by A2 and B2 for a held ball; or

(2) After the try does not hit the ring or flange, it is simultaneously recovered by A2 and B2 for a held ball. The shot-clock horn does not sound.

RULING: (1) A shot-clock violation has occurred and the ball is awarded to Team B at a designated spot.

(2) Since the shot-clock horn has not sounded, there is no violation. The alternating-possession arrow shall be used with no reset of the shot clock when the alternating-possession arrow favors the team that shot the ball.

(Rule 4-64, 9-11-1 and 9-11-2, 6-3-1.a and 2-11-7.i)

68

A.R. 131:

As the hand of A1 contacts the ball to tap it toward the basket, B1 fouls A1. The ball is not airborne from the hand of A1.

RULING: The penalty for a foul on a tap is the same as the penalty for a foul on a try. When the tap is successful, one free throw shall be awarded. When the tap is unsuccessful, two free throws shall be awarded.

(Rule 4-67-2 and 10-1-16 Penalty b[1] and d[1])

69

A.R. 132:

A1 attempts a try at Team A's basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling?

RULING: No. When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule.

(Rule 4-72-1, 4-15-4.c and 9-11-2)

70

A.R. 133:

A1, while airborne, catches the ball in an attempt to prevent a live ball from going out of bounds. A1 throws the ball to the floor as his/her momentum causes A1 to land out of bounds. A1 returns to the playing court where he/she:

(1) Recovers the ball; or

(2) Continues to dribble.

The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

RULING: No.

(1) and (2) The official was incorrect in calling a traveling violation because when A1 caught the ball while airborne, A1 had no established pivot foot. When A1 threw the ball to the floor, returned to the floor after being legally out of bounds and was the first to touch the ball, it became a dribble.

(1) When A1 recovered the ball, the dribble ended.

(2) A1 is permitted to continue his/her dribble.

(Rule 4, Section 72, 4-21-2 and 4-21-4.a)

71

A.R. 134:

A1 receives a pass from A2 and comes to a stop legally with the right foot established as the pivot foot. A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other several times and then proceeds to bat the ball to the floor before A1 lifts the pivot foot.

RULING: Legal.

(Rule 4-72-4.b)

72

A.R. 135:

Is it traveling when a player:

(1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or

(2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or

(3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?

RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor.

(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.

(Rule 4-72-6 and 4-72-1)

73

A.R. 136:

A1's throw (pass) from behind the three-point line is deflected while in flight by:

(1) B1; or

(2) A2, both of whom are located inside the three-point line.

RULING: (1) When a ball thrown (passed) in the direction of the basket from behind the three-point line with the possibility of entering the basket from above is deflected by a defender, a three-point goal shall be counted. However, if there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection caused the goal to be successful, a two-point goal shall be counted.

(2) When a thrown (passed) ball is deflected by a teammate and the goal is successful, two points shall be awarded.

When a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock.

(Rule 4-73-1, 4-33-1.a and 5-1-1 and 5-1-2)

74

A.R. 137:

A1 becomes confused and shoots the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled while trying to shoot and the ball goes in the basket. Is this a goal? If A1 misses, should A1 be granted two free throws for the foul by the Team B player?

RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player shoots at the opponent's basket, it is not a try. When Team A is in the bonus when the Team B player fouls A1, A1 shall be awarded a one-and-one. When Team A is not in the bonus, the ball shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot.

(Rule 4-73-1, 6-5-1.f, 10-1-16 Penalty c and a[1])

75

A.R. 138:

A ball passed from behind the three-point line:

(1) Enters the basket from above and passes through;

(2) Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or

(3) Strikes the side of the ring or the flange.

RULING: (1) A three-point goal shall be counted.

(2) When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted.

(3) The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock.

(Rule 4-73-1, 4-33-1.a, 5-1-1 and 5-1-2, 4-48 and 2-11-6.d)

76

A.R. 139:

During a try for goal but after A1 returns to the floor, B1 commits a holding foul. The foul occurs before the bonus. The attempt is:

(1) Successful; or

(2) Unsuccessful.

RULING: A personal foul shall be charged to B1 in both (1) and (2) but no free throw shall be awarded to A1 in either case since A1 is not an airborne shooter and Team A is not in the bonus. In both (1) and (2), the ball shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 10-1-16 Penalty a[1] and 7-5-4)

77

A.R. 140:

A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A's basket for a break-away layup. Near A's free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the ball against A's backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is located in A1's front court, which A1 is entitled to use.

(Rule 4-3-1, 4-73-1 and 4-73-5)

78

A.R. 141:

A1 is in possession of the ball and in the act of shooting when:

(1) B2 fouls A2 before the release of the ball; or

(2) A2 fouls B2 before the release of the ball.

RULING: (1) Assess B2 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try for goal shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award the ball to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(2) Assess A2 with the foul committed against B2. A1's try for field goal shall not count when successful, since the ball became dead before A1's release. Award the ball to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

(Rule 4-73-6, 10-1-16 Penalty a[1] and c, and 6-5-1.f)