Defense Support of Civil Authorities Flashcards Preview

THE ARMY STUDY GUIDE > Defense Support of Civil Authorities > Flashcards

Flashcards in Defense Support of Civil Authorities Deck (78)
Loading flashcards...

What does ADP 3-28 cover?

Defense Support of Civil Authorities


What does the Acronym DSCA stand for?

Defense Support for Civil Authorities


What is the definition of DSCA?

It is Support provided by Federal U.S. Military Forces, DOD Civilians, DOD Contractors, DOD Component Assets and National Guard Forces when the Secretary of Defense and in coordination with Governors of the Affected Areas either Elects or Requests the use of those Forces in response to Requests for Assistance from Civil Authorities for Domestic Emergencies, Law Enforcement Support and other Domestic Activities or from Qualifying Entities for Special Events.


What is the Primary Purpose of DSCA?

Save Lives, Alleviate Suffering, Protect Property


Who Commands the State National Guard Forces?

the State Governor


Who Commands Federal Military Forces?

The President


What are the Primary Army Tasks for DSCA?

-Provide Support for Domestic Disasters; Provide Support for CBRN Incidents; Provide Support to Domestic
-Civilian Law Enforcement Agencies; Provide other Designated Support


What is Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD 8)?

A Policy Signed by the President to Strengthen the Security and Resilience of the United States through Systematic Preparation for the Threats that Pose the Greatest Risk to the Security of the Nation, including Acts of Terrorism, Cyber-Attacks, Pandemics, and Catastrophic Natural Disasters


When was Presidential Policy Directive 8 Signed?

March 2011


What does FEMA stand for?

Federal Emergency Management Agency


What is the Mission of FEMA?

Maintains National Doctrine for all aspects of Incident Management, defined as a National Comprehensive Approach to Preventing, Preparing for Responding to, and Recovering from Terrorist Attacks, Major Disasters, and other Emergencies


What is the Mission of the Army to Support FEMA to accomplish their Mission to support PPD 8?

Army Forces Operate as part of a larger National Effort characterized as Unified Action—the Synchronization, Coordination, and/or Integration of the activities of Governmental and Nongovernmental Entities with Military Operations to achieve Unity of Effort


What are the 3 documents that contain the National Preparedness Doctrine?

The National Preparedness Goal; The National Incident Management System (known
as the NIMS); The National Response Framework


What are the 5 Mission areas for The National Preparedness Goal?

Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery


What is National Incident Management System?

a National Crisis Response System that provides a Consistent, Nationwide approach for Federal, State, Local, and Tribal Governments; the Private Sector; and Nongovernmental Organizations to work Effectively and Efficiently together to Prepare for, Respond to, and Recover from Domestic Emergencies, Regardless of Cause, Size, or Complexity


What does The National Response Framework Define?

Principles, Roles, and Structures for Effective National Response


What do these Three Documents together Achieve?

Enable all Response partners (Including Community; Tribal, State, and Federal Government; and Private-Sector and Nongovernmental partners) to prepare for and provide a Unified National Response to Disasters and Emergencies, from the Smallest Incident to the Largest Catastrophe


What does The National Preparedness Goal do?

Sets the Vision and Overall Policy for Nationwide Preparedness


What does National Incident Management System provide?

the Template for Managing Incidents at All Levels


What does National Response Framework provide?

Structure to National-Level Incident Management and Response Policy under National Response Framework’s,


What can Federal and State Governments Activate to coordinate Response among Numerous Government, Private Sector, and Military Partners?

Emergency Support Functions (ESF”s)


What does ESF stand for?

Emergency Support Functions


How many different ESF’s are there?



What are the different 15 ESF’s?

1. Transportation;
2. Communications;
3. Public Works and Engineering;
4. Firefighting;
5. Emergency Management;
6. Mass Care, Emergency Assistance, Housing, and Human Services;
7. Logistics Management and Resource Support;
8. Public Health and Medical Services;
9. Search and Rescue;
10. Oil and Hazardous Materials Response;
11. Agriculture and Natural Resources;
12. Energy;
13. Public Safety and Security;
14. Long-Term Community Recovery;
15. External Affairs


What is the Principal of a Tiered Response?

Each Level of Government maintains enough Capability to carry out its Responsibilities Specified by Law


Who are the Key Players in a Tiered Response?

Local, Tribal, State, Territorial, and Federal Governments


What are Federal Military Forces?

Active Army, Marine Corps, Navy, and Air Force; Mobilized Army, Marine Corps, Navy, and Air Force Reserve; and National Guard Mobilized for Federal Service under Title 10, United States Code (USC)


What are the 3 War Fighting Functions for DSCA?

Mission Command, Sustainment, and Protection


For a Unit to have the Ability to provide DSCA they must be Proficient in what Functions?

Mission Command, Sustainment, and Protection


Why is it Important for a Unit to be Proficient in Mission Command?

to Deploy into a Domestic Operational Environment and Operate with Joint and Interagency Partners. They also must adapt Systems and Procedures for a Noncombat, Civilian-Led Structure