DNS Flashcards Preview

70-411 > DNS > Flashcards

Flashcards in DNS Deck (9):

What four events trigger a zone transfer?

• The initial transfer occurs when a secondary zone is created.

• The zone refresh interval expires.

• The DNS Server service is started at the secondary server.

• The master server notifies the secondary server that changes have been made to a zone.


What are the three types of zone transfers?

• Full transfer (AXFR)

• Incremental transfer (IXFR)

• DNS Notify


What are the 3 zone transfer settings?

• To any server: Allows a data transfer to any server that asks for a zone transfer (least secure).

• Only to servers listed on the Name Servers tab: Restricts zone transfers to secondary DNS servers as defined with NS resource records.

• Only to the following servers: Restricts zone transfers to those servers specified in the accompanied list.


What does a transfer from master mean for a secondary zone?

• Transfer from Master: Determines whether the local secondary zone serial number has expired and then pulls a zone transfer from the master server. 


What does reload from master mean in a secondary zone?

• Reload from Master: Performs a zone transfer regardless of the serial number in the secondary zone’s SOA resource records.


What 6 tasks can dnscmd allow you to do?

• Create, delete, and view zones and records

• Reset server and zone properties

• Perform zone maintenance operations, such as updating the zone, reloading the zone, refreshing the zone, writing the zone back to a file or to Active Directory, and pausing or resuming the zone

• Clear the cache

• Stop and start the DNS service

• View statistics


What command is used to view zones on a dns server?

dnscmd server1.contoso.com /enumzones


What is a Zone delegation?

A DNS child zone hosted on another server for performance


What is a stub zone?

Hosts name server, resource and A records for the authoritative name servers without going to the root domain servers