Hatha Yoga Flashcards Preview

Yoga > Hatha Yoga > Flashcards

Flashcards in Hatha Yoga Deck (4)
Loading flashcards...

Hatha yoga's original writings were...

Patanjali Maharishi's yoga sutras (aphorisms) written in Sanskirit around 400 AD. Described as consisting of 8 limbs, or disciplines, referred to as the eightfold path.


Eight Limbs of Yoga

Yamas - focus on how we relate to others
Niyamas - how we relate to ourselves
Asanas - postures practices in yoga
Pranayama - breathing techniques
Pratyahara - withdrawal of the senses
Dharana - concentration
Dhyana - uninterrupted awareness
Samadhi - profound interconnectedness with all living things. Enlightenment



Focus on how we relate to others. Five moral constraints:
Ahimsa (non-harming)
Satya (truthfulness)
Asteya (non-stealing)
Bramacharya (moderation)
Agarigraha (generosity)



How we relate to ourselves. Five observances:
Sauca (purity)
Santosa (contentment)
Tapas (self discipline)
Svadhyaya (self study)
Isvara Pranidhana (surrender to the divine)