Malecha - De Ceteris Actibus Cultus Divini (Prepared: Hastings) Flashcards Preview

Canon Law - Hastings > Malecha - De Ceteris Actibus Cultus Divini (Prepared: Hastings) > Flashcards

Flashcards in Malecha - De Ceteris Actibus Cultus Divini (Prepared: Hastings) Deck (23)
Loading flashcards...

Who has the authority to establish sacramentals (c. 1167 §1)?

• Only the Apostolic See


What differentiates deacons and presbyters with respect to their ability to impart blessings (c. 1169 §§2 and 3)?

• Presbyters can impart any blessing not reserving to the RP or bishops
• Deacons can impart only those blessings which are expressly permitted him by law


Who is obliged to pray the liturgy of the hours (c. 1174 §1)?

• Clerics
• members of institutes of consecrated life and societies of apostolic life, according to their constitutions
• All others are earnestly invited to take part


Which persons who are not christifideles can be given an ecclesiastical funeral (cc. 1183)?

• Catechumens
• Children whose parents intended to have them baptized may be granted rites by local ordinary
• Non-Catholic baptized, provided that their own minister is not available with prudent judgment of local ordinary, unless established that they did not wish it


Which persons must be denied an ecclesiastical funeral (c. 1184 §1)?

• Unless they gave some sign of repentance before death:
o Notorious apostates, heretics, schismatics
o Those who are cremated for anti-Christian motives
o Other manifest sinners to whom a funeral could not be granted without grave scandal


What is absolutely forbidden (nefas est) with regards to sacred relics (c. 1190 §1)?

• Their sale


What is a vow (c. 1191 §1)?

• A deliberate promise made to God, concerning some good which is possible and better. The virtue of religion requires that it be fulfilled.


What is an oath (c. 1199 §1)?

• An invocation of the divine Name as witness to the truth. It cannot be taken except in truth, judgment and justice


What are the different types of sacred places mentioned in the five chapters of this title?

• Churches, Oratories/Private Chapels, Shrines, Altars, Cemeteries


Who dedicates a sacred place (c. 1206)?

• Diocesan bishop and those equivalent to him in law
• Outside of territory: Any bishop can be deputed, or in exceptional cases, a priest


Who can bless a church or another sacred place (c. 1207)?

• Sacred Places: Ordinary
• Churches: diocesan bishop
• Both can delegate to a priest


How does a sacred place lose its dedication or blessing (c. 1212)?

• If they have been in a great measure destroyed
• Permanently made over to secular usage
o By decree of competent ordinary
o By fact


What differentiates a church, an oratory, and a chapel (cc. 1214, 1223, and 1226)?

• Church: a sacred building intended for divine worship, to which the faithful have right of exercise, especially public exercise, of divine worship
• Oratory: a place which, by permission of the Ordinary, is set aside for divine worship, for the convenience of some community or group of the faithful who assemble there, to which however other members of the faithful may, with the consent of the competent Superiorm have access
• Chapel: A private chapel means a place which, by permission of the local Ordinary, is set aside for divine worship, for the convenience of one or more individuals


Who must the diocesan bishop hear before giving permission for a new church to be built (c. 1215 §2)?

• Council of priests and rectors of neighboring churches


What taxes can be imposed on those coming to a church for a sacred celebration (c. 1221)?

• None


Under what circumstances can a bishop relegate a church to profane but not sordid use (c. 1222 §§1 and

• If a church cannot in any way be used for divine worship and there is no possibility of its being restored
• Other grave reasons, after consulting council of priests and consent of those who claim lawful rights over the church, having made sure that the good of souls will not be harmed by the transfer


What is a shrine (c. 1230)?

• A church or other sacred place which, with approval of the local Ordinary, is by reason of special devotion frequented by the faithful as pilgrims


Who approves the statutes of a diocesan, national, or international shrine (cc. 1231 and 1232 §1)?

• National: EpConf
• International: Holy See
• Diocesan: local Ordinary
• (Subsidiarity in action!)


Who can dispense the obligation to observe a feast day or a day of penance (c. 1245)?

• Parish Priests and Bishops
• He can also commute the penance


What is the primordial holy day of obligation according to the apostolic tradition on which the paschal
mystery must be celebrated (c. 1246 §1)?

• Sunday


What authority can suppress holy days of obligation or transfer them to a Sunday (c. 1246 §2)?

• EpConf with approval of ApSee


What days are prescribed by the code as days of fast or abstinence (c. 1251)?

• Abstinence: Fridays (solemnities not included), Ash Wednesday and Good Friday
• Fast: Ash Wednesday and Good Friday


At what ages are Catholics bound by the laws of fast and abstinence (c. 1252)?

• Abstinence: Those who have completed their 14th year
• Fast: Those who have reached majority (18 y. o., c. 97) until beginning of 60th year