Basic Strategy Basics Flashcards Preview

BlackJack > Basic Strategy Basics > Flashcards

Flashcards in Basic Strategy Basics Deck (7)
Loading flashcards...
1

What are the basic Strategy Order Of Operations
Step 1) Can I/should I Surrender?
Step 2) Can I/Should I Split?
3) Can I/Should I Double?
4) Should I hit or should I stand?

Step 1) Can I/should I Surrender?
Step 2) Can I/Should I Split?
Step 3) Can I/Should I Double?
Step 4) Should I hit or should I stand?

2

Basic Strategy Order Of Operations
Step 1) Can I/should I Surrender?

If I'm at a casino that offers surrender (also known as late surrender or LS), I will only have the option to surrender on the first two cards I've dealt. I won’t be able to surrender if I've already taken a hit card.
This is why surrender is the first thing I have to think about when playing your hand. If the answer is NO you can’t or NO you shouldn’t surrender, you then ask yourself Can I/Should I Split?

3

Basic Strategy Order Of Operations
Step 2) Can I/Should I Split?

The second most important decision is whether or not to split. This will only be an option when my first two cards are a pair or if I have two ten-valued cards (like a jack and a king). If the answer is NO I can’t or shouldn’t split, I then ask yourself Can I/Should I Double?

4

Basic Strategy Order Of Operations
3) Can I/Should I Double?

When basic strategy calls for doubling, it’s a really good thing! It means I'm likely to win the hand! Some casinos restrict doubling on certain hands so it may not always be possible but I want to make sure I've ruled it out before I move on. If the answer is NO I can’t or shouldn’t double, i ask yourself Should I hit or should I stand?

5

Basic Strategy Order Of Operations
4) Should I hit or should I stand?

The last thing I should think about when it comes to basic strategy is whether or not to take another card. If the other options above are not appropriate for your hand then you would choose to hit or stand.

6

What is a soft total?

A soft total is any hand that has an Ace as one of the first two cards, the ace counts as 11 to start.

7

What is a hard total?

A hard total is any hand that does not start with an ace in it, or it has been dealt with an ace that can only be counted as 1 instead of 11.